Conservative group make gains in Calderdale local elections

editorial image

The Conservatives were the only party to gain ground in the Calderdale Council elections at the expense of a seat lost for both Labour and the Liberal Democrats.

The Labour group are still the largest group on Calderdale Council with 24 seats, the Conservatives have 20, Liberal Democrats five and there is one independent councillor. .

No party has enough seats to claim an overall majority on the council, but is currently being run by a Conservative-led coalition.

Conservative Mike Payne was elected in Sowerby Bridge over Labour incumbent Dave Draycott with a 250-vote majority

Chris Pearson took Greetland and Stainland for the Conservatives from the Liberal Democrats with a majority of 844 votes after Peter Wardhaugh stood down.

Labour leader Tim Swift held onto his Town seat by 625 votes and deputy Labour leader Barry Collins held on to Illingworth and Mixenden with a majority of 545 votes.

Liberal Democrat deputy leader James Baker managed to hold on to his Warley seat with a majority of 55 votes. .

Deputy leader of the Conservative group maintained his seat in Brighouse with a 948 majority.