Councillors’ pay down £23k

Halifax Town Hall
Halifax Town Hall

The amount of money paid to Calderdale councillors and co-opted members went down by about £23,000 during the last financial year to £690,000 due to them accepting a five per cent pay cut.

As usual, the highest amount went to the council leader, Janet Battye (Lib-Dem, Calder), who received £37,112 including a special responsibility allowance worth £27,181.

Councillor Tim Swift (Lab, Town), who took over as council leader in May this year, received a total of £23,537 including his special responsibility allowance of £13,590.

Conservative group leader Stephen Baines (Northowram and Shelf) received a total of £22,003.

Every councillor was entitled to a basic allowance of £9,930 during 2011/12 and 19 councillors also claimed travel and subsistence allowances. The list published by Calderdale Council includes amounts paid to former councillors who are allowed to claim in arrears.

Cabinet members, committee chairmen and women received extra responsibility allowances.

Lay people co-opted on to committees were paid basic allowances last year worth between £344 and £360.

The Vicar of Halifax Hilary Barber received an additional £7,448 for chairing the council’s standards committee.

Some councillors were paid up to £19,370 for representing the council on outside bodies.

Councillor Geraldine Carter (Con, Ryburn) received that amount as a result of her membership of the West Yorkshire Police Authority. Coun Brian Smith (Lab, Ovenden ) received £12,617; Coun David Kirton (Con, Hipperholme and Lightcliffe) £11,624 and Coun Iqbal Din (Lib-Dem , Park) £9,623.

The highest paid Calderdale representative on the West Yorkshire Integrated Transport Authority was Coun David Hardy (Lib-Dem, Elland) who received £10,576; Coun Barry Collins (Lab, Illingworth and Mixenden) £7,173; Coun Robert Pearson (Lib-Dem, Warley) £3,030 and Coun Keith Watson £1,288.