61 standing for election to Calderdale Council

A TOTAL of 61 candidates are in the running for the 17 seats which are up for grabs at the Calderdale Council elections on May 3.

Labour and Conservative candidates will be standing in every ward and the Liberal Democrats will contest every ward except Rastrick, where Rob Bailey, of Slade Lane, is standing for “Trades Unions and Socialists Against Cuts”.

The Green Party will be represented in six wards and in Todmorden, David Jones will stand for the British People’s Party.

Brighouse: Coun Howard Blagbrough (Con), Ann Martin (Lab) and Jennie Rigg (LD). Calder: Coun Janet Battye (LD), Gail Lund (Con), Susan Press (Lab) and Kate Sweeny (Green). Elland: Coun Pat Allen (LD), Angi Gallagher (Lab), Mike Payne (Con) and Susan Thomas (Green). Greetland/Stainland: Jim Gallagher (Lab), Malcolm James (LD), Mark Mullany (Green) and Coun Keith Watson (Con).

Hipperholme/Lightcliffe: Mat Bowles (LD), Coun Graham Hall (Con), Chris O’Connor (Ind) and Anthony Rutherford (Lab). Illingworth/Mixenden: Coun Tom Bates (Ind), Lisa Lambert (Lab), Sean Loftus (Ind), Glen Mattock (LD) and Andrew Tagg (Con).

Luddenden Foot: Coun Christine Bampton-Smith (LD), Gillian Smith-Moorhouse (Con) and Simon Young (Lab). Northowram/Shelf: Kenneth Albret (LD), Peter Caffrey (Con) and Gary Walsh (Lab). Ovenden: Christopher Blakey (Con), Anne Collins (Lab) and John Reynolds (LD). Park: Coun Illyas Mohammed (LD), Jenny Lynn (Lab) and Shakir Saghir (Con).

Rastrick: Rob Bailey (Socialist Against Cuts), Peter Judge (Lab) and Coun Ann McAllister. Ryburn: Coun Geraldine Carter (Con), Freda Davis (Green), Judy Gannon (Lab) and Rosemary Tatchell (LD). Skircoat: Charles Gate (Green), Stephen Gow (LD), Coun John Hardy (Con) and Alistair Millington (Lab). Sowerby Bridge: Andrew Feather (Con), Elizabeth Ward (LD) and Adam Wilkinson (Lab).

Todmorden: Coun Ian Cooper (Con), Olwen Jennings (LD), David Jones (British People’s Party), John Nesbitt (Green) and Steve Sweeney (Lab). Town: Ruth Coleman-Taylor (LD), Stephen Collins (Con) and Coun Megan Swift (Lab). Warley: James Baker (LD), Martin Burton (Lab) and Christopher Pearson (Con).