Calderdale elections results: This is how they day unfolded as Labour remained in control

The local Calderdale Council election count has finished at North Bridge Leisure Centre today.

Saturday, 8th May 2021, 5:06 pm
Calderdale Council election count

Here is our blog of how they day unfolded.

Live results and reaction from Calderdale local elections

Last updated: Thursday, 01 January, 1970, 01:00

    Your reaction to the results so far

    This is how you have been reacting on social media to the election results so far.

    What results will we see this afternoon

    These are the wards we are expecting results from this afternoon: Calder, Greetland and Stainland, Hipperholme and Lightcliffe, Luddenden Foot, Rastrick, Ryburn, Sowerby Bridge, Warley

    Plenty of praise from Labour’s Halifax MP

    Praise for council team

    Election results (so far) in numbers

    We’ve had our morning session of results. Here we look at the number of votes each candidate got.

    BRIGHOUSE (two seats)

    • Kim Anderson (Green), 318 votes
    • Tina Benton (Conservative), 1643 - elected
    • Charlotte Butterick (Labour), 900
    • Joanne Core (Green), 250
    • Brenda Monteith (Conservative), 1431 - elected
    • Colin Peel,, 50
    • Colin Stout (Independent), 977
    • Michael James Sutton (Liberal Democrats), 112
    • Oliver Wllows (Labour). 660


    • Pat Allen (Liberal Democrats), 699
    • Barry Crossland (Green), 220
    • John Ford (Conservative), 1209 - elected
    • Jim Gallagher (Labour). 1147

    Illingworth and Mixenden:

    • Guy Beech (Conservative), 1226 - elected
    • Stuart Cairney (Labour), 1133
    • Paul Daniel Farrell (Yorkshire Party – Speaking up for Yorkshire), 325
    • Sean Loftus (Independent), 48
    • Mark Mullany (Green), 90
    • Mark Stephen Pittaway (Liberal Democrats), 46
    • Martin Gerard Roberts (Social Democractic Party) 15

    Northowram and Shelf

    • Peter Caffrey (Conservative), 2193 - elected
    • Catherine Crosland (Liberal Democrats), 75
    • Frank Malcolm Darnley (Labour), 596
    • Martin Hey (Green). 902


    • Sean Bamforth (Liberal Democrats), 245
    • Danielle Durrans (Labour), 979 - elected
    • Finn Jensen (Green), 114
    • Andrew Tagg (Conservative). 811


    • Mary Betteridge (Green), 378
    • Kathleen Haigh-Hutchinson (Liberal Democrats), 268
    • Mohammad Ilyas (Conservative), 1524
    • Ann Kingstone (Labour). 2143 - elected


    • Matthew Doyle (Liberal Democrats), 552
    • Chris Jackson (National Front), 86
    • Craig Ashton Oates (Conservative), 824
    • Diana Tremayne (Labour), 1951 - elected
    • Kieran Turner (Green). 361


    • Elliot Hey (Green), 316
    • Naveed Khan (Conservative), 916
    • Megan Swift (Labour), 1385 - elected
    • Mick Taylor (Liberal Democrats). 141

    Familiar name in Brighouse

    For the eagle-eyed of you out there, you might have seen a familiar name elected in the Brighouse ward.

    One of the successful Conservative candidates was Tina Benton. She is the mum of former Calderdale Tory group leader Scott Benton who stood down at this election. He’s now Conservative MP for Blackpool South.

    Recap from this morning

    Right, here is a quick recap of what has happened this morning.

    Labour have held four of their seats and gained one.

    The Conservatives have held two of their existing seats and gained three.

    As explained below the control of Calderdale Council still remains in the balance.

    Council control remains in the babalnce

    John Greenwood, our Local Democracy Reporter explains that the overall control of the Council remains in the balance. He said:

    The Calderdale Council Mixenden and Illingworth result means Labour do not yet know whether they will retain overall control of the council - they need one more hold or gain to do so. Counting will begin again in the remaining wards in the afternoon session.

    Last result of the morning is in and it’s a Conservative gain

    Conservatives gain another seat

    Page 3 of 6