Shake up in constituencies for Calderdale MPs

Craig Whittaker MP
Craig Whittaker MP

The Calder Valley and Halifax constituencies will undergo a major reshuffle in proposals being put forward by the Boundary Commission for England

The Commission has published its initial proposals and are set to be the subject of much debate before they are finalised ready for the 2020 General Election.

Craig Whittaker MP

Craig Whittaker MP

Brighouse, Rastrick, Hipperholme and Lightcliffe and Elland will now come under the Halifax constituency along with Royds from the City of Bradford. The Halifax constituency will also be made up of Northowram and Shelf, Ovenden, Park and Town wards.

The new look Calder Valley constituency will consist of the wards Calder, Greetland and Stainland, Illingworth and Mixenden, Ludendenfoot, Ryburn, Skircoat, Sowerby Bridge, Todmorden and Warley.

As a region Yorkshire is set to lose four MPs as part of a major shake-up of the way the region is represented at Westminster. Cutting the number of Commons seats for the region from 54 to 50 would involve changes to almost every constituency under plans put forward by the.

Conservative Party chairman Patrick McLoughlin said: “Boundaries should be drawn up in an impartial and independent way so I welcome the Boundary Commission’s proposals to implement Parliament’s instruction to ensure equally-sized constituencies.

“Without these reforms, MPs could end up representing constituencies based on data that is over 20 years old.

“We will work with our MPs, councillors and local associations in our response to the consultation process.

“The Conservative Party will be following a policy of ‘No Colleague Left Behind’ to minimise the disruption that boundary restructuring can sometimes cause in the short term.”

The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial non‑departmental public body which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.