FC Halifax Town: Shaymen confirm who is under contract for next season

FC Halifax Town have confirmed that goalkeeper Sam Johnson, defenders Matty Brown and Scott Garner and midfielders Matty Kosylo, Jake Hibbs and Michael Collins are all under contract for next season.

Thursday, 3rd May 2018, 11:58 am
Updated Thursday, 3rd May 2018, 12:21 pm
FC Halifax Town v Torquay. Matty Kosylo

Johnson signed a two-year contract when he joined Halifax permanently last summer, while Garner penned a one-year extension during the 2017-18 season.

Brown signed a new two-year deal last month, while Hibbs signed a three-year contract in May 2016.

Kosylo’s two-year contract was due to expire this summer, but it appears Town have now activated an option to extend that for a further 12 months.

Sign up to our daily Halifax Courier Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Town confirmed on Wednesday that striker Tom Denton, midfielder Danny Clarke, defenders Josh Wilde, Martin Riley and Cliff Moyo and goalkeeper Tom Nicholson had all been released.

That leaves forward Ben Tomlinson, midfielders Connor Oliver, Connor Thomson, Josh Macdonald and Nathan Hotte and defenders Michael Duckworth, Scott McManus and Niall Maher remaining of Town’s contracted players whose futures are yet to be announced.