Ebbsfleet v FC Halifax Town preview

Actions from FC Halifax Town v Morcambe, FA Cup match, at the Shay. Cameron King nets the winner for The Shaymen
Actions from FC Halifax Town v Morcambe, FA Cup match, at the Shay. Cameron King nets the winner for The Shaymen

FC Halifax Town will record a hat-trick of wins if they can beat Ebbsfleet on Saturday (3pm).

The Shaymen have won their last two games 1-0 - beating both Dover and Morecambe at The Shay - and have kept four clean sheets in their last five games.

Halifax have gone just under five hours without conceding a goal since Alfie Rutherford’s winner for Havant and Waterlooville on November 3.

Ebbsfleet have gone five-and-a-half hours without scoring since Danny Kedwell’s winner against Barrow on the same day.

The Fleet have experienced a tumultuous season so far, winning four of their first seven games before only getting three points from two of their next 13 league matches.

Manager Daryl McMahon, who guided the club to the play-offs last season, left on November 7, replaced by former Dagenham and Redbridge boss Garry Hill.

Under him, Ebbsfleet are yet to score in his first three games in charge - 0-0 draws against Cheltenham and Boreham Wood, and a 2-0 defeat in midweek in an FA Cup first round replay at Cheltenham.

Defender Kenny Clark, who was on the bench at Cheltenham with a tight calf, could return alongside captain Dave Winfield.

Myles Weston and Ebou Adams were both on interntaional duty with Antigua & Barbuda and Gambia respectively during the week, so it remains to be seen whether they play from the start after long flights back.

Right-back Sam Magri is suspended after a red card at Cheltenham.

Town lost 2-0 at Ebbsfleet last season thanks to a brace from Sean Shields, and haven’t won there since March 2005, when goals from Martin Foster, Dean Howell and Lewis Killeen.

Saturday’s National League fixtures:

AFC Fylde v Boreham Wood

Aldershot Town v Barrow

Barnet v Gateshead

Bromley v Dagenham & Redbridge

Dover Athletic v Hartlepool United

Eastleigh v Chesterfield

Ebbsfleet United v FC Halifax Town

Harrogate Town v Braintree Town

Havant & Waterlooville v Maidstone United

Solihull Moors v Salford City

Sutton United v Maidenhead United

Wrexham v Leyton Orient