Emergency loan system extended

editorial image

FIFA has extended the emergency loan system until the end of the 2014-15 season after originally planning to ban it at the end of the current campaign.

The system allows clubs to sign players on loan between the two transfer windows, and has meant FC Halifax Town have been able to bring in Tom Anderson, Reece Gray, Sam Patterson, Joe Ironside and Archie Love from Football League teams.

This season clubs could sign players on emergency loans from 10 September until 28 November, with the emergency window reopening again in February and traditionally running until late March.