FA commission proposes new league

FA chairman Greg Dyke
FA chairman Greg Dyke

Clubs from the Conference would join Premier League B teams in a new League Three under proposals announced by FA chairman Greg Dyke.

If accepted, the new division would start in 2016-17 and see 10 clubs from the Conference and 10 Premier League B teams.

The B team squads would require 20 out of 25 players to qualify for the home-grown rule and no non-EU players would be allowed. Nineteen players would have to be under 21.

The FA commission also wants a phased reduction in the number of non-home-grown players in Premier League squads from 17 to 12, reaching their target by 2021, and a ban on non-EU players outside of the top flight.

A petition has already been set-up to oppose the introduction of the new league.