FC Halifax Town: Tamworth preview

Ross Dyer celebrates scoring the only goal of his Town career against Aldershot at The Shay
Ross Dyer celebrates scoring the only goal of his Town career against Aldershot at The Shay

Table-toppers FC Halifax Town could be without three of their first-choice back-four when they host Tamworth on Saturday (3pm).

Right-back Cliff Moyo will miss the next three games through suspension after his red-card last Saturday in the 3-0 win over Worcester.

He could be joined on the sidelines by centre-back Danny Hone and left-back Josh Wilde.

Hone missed the 1-1 draw at Stockport on Tuesday with a back problem, but could have a chance of featuring.

Wilde limped off in the closing stages at Edgeley Park with a hamstring injury, but that is not as bad as was first feared, so he could have a good chance of playing.

Captain Liam King is also said to have a chance of playing for the first time this season, but one man who definitely won’t feature is Nathan Hotte, who picked up a groin injury at Stockport that will keep him out for at least two weeks.

Tamworth manager Andy Morrell scored a last-gasp winner for The Lambs in their 2-1 win over Telford.

That was their second win on the bounce after they also beat Worcester following an opening day draw at Brackley.

But they lost 3-0 at Boston in midweek.

Former Town striker Ross Dyer, who scored once in 13 games for The Shaymen during the 2014-15 season, is among the ranks at Tamworth.

The teams last met in December last year when Halifax thrashed Tamworth 5-0 on their way to winning the FA Trophy.

Tamworth’s only win in six visits to The Shay came in August 2003 when goals by Scott Rickards and David Robinson were sandwiched either side of Craig Midgley’s equaliser.

Coach travel to AFC Fylde on August 27 costs £10 and departs at 12 noon. To book call 07707 143094.

Saturday’s Conference North fixtures:

Alfreton v AFC Fylde

Bradford Park Avenue v Harrogate Town

Chorley v Boston United

Curzon Ashton v Telford

Halifax v Tamworth

FC United of Manchester v Worcester City

Gainsborough Trinity v Altrincham

Gloucester City v Darlington 1883

Kidderminster v Stalybridge Celtic

Nuneaton v Salford City

Stockport v Brackley Town