Jer Lane and Sowerby SP take titles

Bowler Chris Punda (Sowerby SP) and Old Crossleyans' Jonny Sykes in Saturday's crunch match in Division One
Bowler Chris Punda (Sowerby SP) and Old Crossleyans' Jonny Sykes in Saturday's crunch match in Division One

Jer Lane are champions of the Foster’s Halifax League for the first time, following up last month’s Parish Cup triumph.

They got the 10 points they needed from their penultimate fixture at Clayton to win the Premier Division and in the process sent their former Bradford Central League rivals down to the middle section.

Mick Hustler’s side actually got all 12 points in their 17th win from 21 games, bowling out Clayton for 172 and then losing only three wickets - all to Hanif - in reply.

Jason Slator (44) and Sam Wilson (40) tried their best to halt the Lane juggernaut, adding 66 after Clayton had been 62 for three.

However, four wickets for Raqeeb Younis helped finish off the hosts and Younis followed up with 56 in an opening stand of 134 with Andrew Pinfield, who maintained his excellent form with 93 not out.

Clayton will go down with either Sowerby Bridge or SBCI next Saturday after Warley and Bradshaw ended their drop fears.

Sowerby Bridge, who host Bradshaw next weekend, are most in danger after losing to SBCI, who must go to Jer Lane on Saturday.

Last year’s champions SBCI turned a two-point deficit into a four-point advantage over Bridge thanks to a 12-run success.

SBCI had Sam Hinchliffe (58 no) and skipper Jamie Sykes (40 no) to thank for rescuing them from 81 for five. They added 102 and ensured maximum batting points, while restricting Bridge to one bowling point.

Chasing 184 to win, Tim Helliwell (42) and Paul Smith (50) helped Bridge to 168 for six but three quick wickets left them hanging on to deny their hosts an extra three points at 171 for nine.

Sykes took four for 26 and Tom Wood three for 46 for SBCI.

Simon Collins took his wickets tally to 83 for the season with six for 47 as Bradshaw bowled out visitors Booth for 107 en route to a four-wicket win. Skipper Dean Cotton’s 22 not out clinched victory after his side had been 87 for six.

Warley romped to a 159-run win at home to Mytholmroyd, who were bowled out for 112 in reply to their 271 for nine.

Chris Marsh made 70 and Shazad Hassan 66 for Warley with Adie Gawthorpe (five for 52) doing most to check their progress.

Luke Duckitt produced another excellent spell for Warley taking seven for 48. James Cowens (31) was top scorer in a disappointing ‘Royd batting effort.

Thornton lead the hunt for the runners-up spot after two superb individual performances in a 75-run home win over Copley.

Josh Hutchinson’s unbeaten 103 helped Thornton to 213 but he was arguably upstaged by Joe Blencowe, whose eight for 12 saw the visitors plunge from 113 for two to 138 all out,

Much-improved Blackley are third, opener Reece Jennison scoring an unbeaten 119 to guide his side to a target of 215 and a four-wicket home win over one of his former clubs Triangle

Points: Jer Lane 180, Thornton 165, Blackley 162, Mytholmroyd 152, Copley 144, Triangle 140, Bradshaw 139, Booth 137, Warley 136, SBCI 125, Sowerby Bridge 121, Clayton 105.

Lyndon Baxter Jnr was the toast of Sowerby St Peter’s after his side clinched the Division One title with a nail-biting one-wicket win at home to Old Crossleyans.

Crocs were desperate for points in an unavailing bid to beat the drop on what was the last day of the season in the middle section.

Their hopes soared when they reduced Sowerby from 70 for two to 100 for seven but Baxter saw Sowerby over the line, adding 38 with Chris Punda (7) and six with last man Matt McCambridge.

“We rather limped over the winning line,” admitted relieved Sowerby chairman Jonathan Hoyle.

Jonathan Sykes (48), Anjam Hussain (25) and Richard Dixon (24) did the best with the bat for Crocs, who were trying to repair the damage done at home by Outlane the previous week.

Martin Schofield (four for 53) and Chris Punda (five for 52) did best with the ball for Sowerby.

Ben Watkins (30), Ryan brook (26) and Dan Crosland (23) had the reply firmly on course but Safor Hussain (three for 56) and Jack Hemblys (four for 25) set up an exciting finish.

Sowerby’s win meant Southowram had to settle for second spot. The Rams were 59-run winners at Bridgeholme, sending their hosts down with Old Crossleyans, who were playing in the Premier in 2011.

Tom Belfield (72) and Ian Gledhill (86) helped Southowram to 274 for nine and Dan Fielden’s 92 was in vain for Bridgeholme.

Belfield followed up with four wickets and Fielden was last man out - run out - in the quest for quick runs with the total on 215.

Outlane ensured their survival with a four-wicket win over Queensbury at Old Guy Road.

The Queensbury batting had an “end of season” look about it and the home side were dismissed for 125 with the ever

reliable Anwar Shokat claiming five for 68 and Neil Crosland three for 22. Only Babar Malik (36) made any headway.

With 54 overs to reach 126 and their league place now assured, Ben Dickens took the attack to the bowlers with 46 and Lee Mellor’s patient 36 saw his side home.

Girdev Singh’s four for 47 took him to 73 league wickets for the season - a record for Queensbury.

The results from Sowerby and Bridgeholme brought relief to Northowram HT, who were unable to collect the seven points they needed to be certain of safety at home to Oxenhope.

Ollie Hemingway’s 72 helped Northowram post 274 for eight but a 142-run stand between Luke Fleetwood (104) and Josh Tetley (58 no) saw Oxenhope to a five-wicket win.

Points: Sowerby SP 182, Southowram 178, Queensbury 158, Oxenhope 149, Outlane 129, Northowram HT 121, Old Crossleyans 115, Bridgeholme 115.

The Division Two title, which looked Low Moor’s for the taking four weeks ago, is back in the melting pot after the leaders suffered an embarrassing 150-run home defeat at the hands of next-to-bottom Denholme Clough.

Clough took advantage of five dropped catches to rattle up 229 for five, with 79 from Mohammed Younas and 64 not out from Khasim Aslam.

Steve Howard (23) and Andy Croasdell (32) got Moor off to a reasonable start but their weakened batting line-up crumbled to 85 all out with Bradley Weatherhead taking six for nine.

Luddenden Foot are only two points behind and Wibsey Park Chapel eight further back after that pair claimed 12 points in home games.

Gareth Swain took eight for 59, hitting the stumps six times in a 19-over spell, as Foot bowled out visitors Augustinians for 125.

Foot lost their openers cheaply but Gareth Hall (61 no) figured in stands of 60 with skipper Karl Whipp (38) and 49 with Grant Helliwell (11 no) to ensure a seven-wicket win.

Wibsey were 40 for four at home to 10-man Old Town but Matthew Jordan (52) led a recovery and an unbeaten 52 from Chris Lawrence helped Park up to 222 for seven.

Town put on 63 for the first wicket but their robust response, led by Adil Shah (49) and Matloob (33) petered out quickly once they had bagged maximum batting points, Jordan returning to clean up the innings for 189 with the last three wickets.

Low Moor go to Stones next Saturday while Luddenden Foot travel to Wibsey Park Chapel in a crunch promotion contest.

Tom Whiteley’s 72 helped Stones get the 176 they needed to beat hosts Stainland by five wickets while Leigh Butterfield smashed 133 off only 55 balls at Shelf, where the home side overhauled Greetland’s 193 all out for the loss of only Butterfield’s wicket. Jonathon Marshall made 48 not out in an opening stand of 175 with Butterfield.

Points: Low Moor 203, Luddenden Foot 201, Wibsey PC 193, Shelf 160, Stones 150, Stainland 133, Greetland 111, Old Town 100, Denholme Clough 97, Augustinians 62.