Clean sweep of titles for England

Scott Waites
Scott Waites

It was success all the way for England when international darts came to Calderdale at the weekend.

England’s men, ladies, boys and girls won all their matches against Scotland and Wales in the British Internationals at The Venue, Barkisland.

It was a mixed weekend for Pennine Housing worker Scott Waites, the former BDO world champion from Halifax.

Waites, who now lives at Fixby, was a 4-0 winner over Luke Jones as England’s men thrashed Wales 11-1 on Saturday teatime.

However, he was beaten 4-1 by an in-form Craig Baxter as England romped to a 10-2 success over Scotland yesterday afternoon.

Huddersfield’s James Wilson won his matches by 4-1 and 4-0.

Results - Friday: Wales Boys 2 Scotland Boys 2, England Girls 2 Scotland Girls 0, England Ladies 5 Scotland Ladies 1 (L Winstanley bt L Cowan 3-1, T Gulliver bt F Lawson 3-0, Z Jones lost to L Hepburn 3-1, L Ashton bt L Shearer 3-0, D Hedman bt K Smith 3-0, C Ball bt J Tully 3-0), Scotland Boys 1 England Boys 3.

Saturday: Scotland Girls 2 Wales Girls 0, England Boys 4 Wales Boys 0, Wales Men 5 Scotland Men 7,Scotland Ladies 2 Wales Ladies 4, England Men 11 Wales Men 1 (P Hogan bt M Gillet 4-2, S Johnson lost to M Layton 4-1, S Mitchell bt T Bradley 4-2, G Thompson bt D Smith-Hayes 4-0, T O’Shea bt S Cake 4-3, J Hughes bt J.Clayton 4-1, M McGeeney 4 T Clark 2, J Wilson 4 W Warren 0, D Harbour 4 H Thomas 1, G Durrant 4 N Kenny 1, M Atkins 4 M Phillips 3, S Waites 4 L Jones 0),

Sunday: Wales Girls 0 England Girls 2, Wales Ladies 1 England Ladies 5 (K Bellerby lost to D Hedman 3-1, R Griffiths lost to L Ashton 3-0, C Savvery lost to C Ball 3-0, J Gore lost to T Gulliver 3-1, E Powell lost to L Winstanley 3-2, R Edwards bt Z Jones 3-2), Scotland Men 2 England Men 10 (H Todman lost to L Mitchell 4-2, C Robertson lost to Hogan 4-0, G Swan lost to D Harbour 4-0, S Mitchell lost to T O,Shea 4-1, R Montgomery lost to G Durrant 4-0, S Ritchie bt M Atkins 4-1, S Plank lost to J Wilson 4-0, A Small lost to M McGeeney 4-1, C Baxter bt S Waites 4-1, A Soutar lost to J Hughes 4-0, N Macdougall lost to G Thompson 4-1, J Eyre lost to S Johnson 4-3).