Derby is another former winner aiming for a repeat

Jim Derby became the latest of a growing list of former winners to reach the last 32 of the Complete Packaging Services Classic at Hill Crest after Saturday’s qualifier.

Also through are Peter Wilcox, whose sons James and Jonathan both lost in the second round, Tony Gatley and Paul Dudley.

Derby eased through his opening game against John Gatley to win by 31-20 but faced sterner opposition in his second, against Roger Morgan. Derby enjoyed an early 16-11 lead but Morgan recovered to level at 17 and was briefly ahead at 21-20 and 23-22 before Derby moved up a gear to win by 31-24.

Peter Wilcox also had a comparatively easy passage through his opening game against John Durrands. He trailed 4-8 but dominated the rest of the game to win by 31-16.

The scores were level at 10 in his second game, against Matt Gillies, before Gillies moved into a 15-10 lead. Wilcox responded to edge ahead at 16-15 and, after a pair to Gillies, went ahead again by 19-17 and remained there to win by 31-25.

Very little separated Tony Gatley and Steve Baskerville through the first half of their first round game. Their scores were level at 10, 17 and 20 before Gatley made the decisive move with a break of seven to lead by 27-21. Baskerville was unable to narrow the gap and Gatley took the game by 31-25.

Gatley then made a sound start against James Wilcox, leading by 11-6 and 16-11 before Wilcox narrowed the gap to a single chalk at 15-16. The scores were level at 19, but Gatley won the next two ends to lead by 22-19 and maintained his lead, finishing with a break of five to run out from 26-24.

Paul Dudley’s three breaks of nine, eight and a prize winning one took him to an impressive 21-13 first round victory over David Baskerville before he faced Jonathan Wilcox in his second game.

After the two were level at seven Wilcox went ahead by 15-10. Wilcox was still ahead at 17-14 before Dudley took the lead for the first time at 18-17.

In a close finish, the scores were level at 21, 22, 24 and 25 before Dudley went ahead by 27-25. Wilcox was briefly ahead again by 28-27 before Dudley ran out with four singles to win by 31-28.

Next week’s final qualifying session includes three more former holders of the trophy. Steve Copeland won in 1989, 1993 and 2008 while Andy Ferris was successful in 2003 and Charlie Bebbington in 1995. Local interest is provided by Gary Timewell from Todmorden and Elland WMC’s Peter Craig.

First round: S.Baskerville 25 T.Gatley 31, M.O’Neill 21 James Wilcox 31, J.Derby 31 J.Gatley 10, A.Thompson 26 R.Morgan 31, J.Muff 20 Jonathan Wilcox 31, P.Dudley 31 D.Baskerville 13, J.Durrands 16 P.Wilcox 31, M.Gillies 31 A.Sykes 28.

Saturday’s Draw: R.Bentley v R.Goddard, L.Schofield v S.Copeland, A.Ferris v A.Wightman, A.Judson v V.Senior, D.Ferris v P.Craig, C.Bebbington v A.Marshall, G.Timewell v R.Swift, C.Wraight v P.Heap.