Elland WMC on track for super seventh title

Elland WMC are firmly on course to eclipse the record of the legendary Akroyd Park side for Halifax League title wins.

The Boothtown team won six in a row and Elland are in pole position to make it seven after a 9-3 home win over Clayton Victoria on Wednesday.

Elland had a wobby start to the season, losing at Todmorden in their opening match and then suffering another reverse away to a Hill Crest side who had lost three key players over the winter.

However, they have been back to their normal efficient best recently and this week’s win has put them 11 points clear of the rest with eight matches still to play.

Elland got off a poor start on a rare fine Wednesday, Clayton winning three of the first four jacks through Paul Kaye, Gragham Roberts and Martin Kaye.

It could have been worse for Paul Demetriades’ Elland side, Peter Craig sneaking home 21-20 against Phil Lister.

However, Elland won the remaining six contests comfortably, Ian Booth playing particularly well to beat left hander Paul Gill 21-11. The champs emerged 203-169 winners.

Crossroads had only four winners at Mytholmroyd but the sides took six points each after Neil Hargreaves’ 21-4 success over Peter Collins enabled the visitors to take the aggregate 183-172.

Hill Crest A and Sowerby West End had five winners each but Crest came out on top 190-181. A couple of 21-20 wins helped the home side avert disappointment.

Hill Crests’ second team lost 8-4 away to their Crossroads counterparts.

Brighouse Sports and Rastrick PSBC carry Calderdale hopes in the quarter-finals of the Yorkshire Cup tomorrow.

Brighouse play Alverthorpe while Rastrick, conquerors of Lower Hopton in the last round, bid to create another upset against Thongsbridge.

DRAWS - Yorkshire Cup: Brighouse Sports A v Alverthorpe WMC at Cleckheaton Sports, Pudsey Littlemoor v Netherton Cons at Halifax BC, Eccleshill v Spen Victoria at Swillington Welfare, Thongsbridge A v Rastrick PSBC at Outlane.

Henry Taylor Cup: Guiseley v Lower Hopton at Pontefract BC, Heptonstall v Swillington MW at Lindley BC, Crosland Moor A v Longwood BC A at Elland CA and BC No 1, Canalside SC A v Linthwaite Hall at Kirkheaton Cons.

Eric Hutchinson Memorial: Skipton Craven v Settle at Guiseley, Whitby v Glasshoughton Welfare at Scholes, Shipley BC v Cranmore at Sowerby Bridge WE, Pudsey BC v Hightown Libs at Alverthorpe WMC.

Derrick Radley Trophy: Drighlington Park v Millbridge Park at Heptonstall, Pontefract BC v Akroydon Victoria at Horbury WMC, Rufford Park A v Scholes at Akroydon Victoria, Wakefield BC v Morton House at Drighlington Park.