Hipperholme’s clean sweep

The Hipperholme Grammar School Racing Team achieved a clean sweep at the British Schools Karting Championship North East semi-finals at Pole Position Indoor Circuit in Leeds.

As a result of their success against competing schools and colleges from South and West Yorkshire, Hipperholme A and Hipperholme B are now through to the North East Regional Finals which will take place at the Teesside circuit near Middlesbrough on March 5 where they will be up against strong opposition from up to 20 teams representing schools from the North and North East of England.

Aimed at pupils aged 13–18, the Championship races take place at selected arrive-and-drive karting circuits across the country.

This year, Hipperholme Grammar School has entered three teams. Driving in Hipperholme A are Huddersfield students Taneil Durman (Year 12) and Josef Cotterill (Year 11) and Year 9 pupil Alex Snowball from Brighouse. Team B comprises Josh Mitchell from Norwood Green (Year 12), Josh Valente (Year 10) from Cleckheaton and Patrick Lathom-Sharp (Year 12) from Lightcliffe. Team C are: Lewis Kelly (Year 8) from Bradford, Alex Christopher (Year 9) from Low Moor and Year 9 pupil Henry Ward from Hipperholme.