Holder Andy crashes out

ANDY Whitworth’s hopes of a 12th Halifax-Huddersfield Union matchplay success were soon dashed at Woodsome Hall yesterday.

The Bradley Hall legend, the only man to have won the title more than four times, was beaten 4 and 3 by Halifax’s Chris Lander, who then when down 5 and 3 to Huddersfield’s Andy Wilford in the second round of the BM Howarth-sponsored event.

Matchplay round one: A.Schnacke (Hudds) walkover v S.Beeby (Outlane), T.Williams (Hudds) bt M.Major (Hudds) 6 and 5, B.Tupman (Hudds) bt B.Kaye (Bradley Park) 4 and 3, A.Shaw (Bradley Hall) bt G.Moolman (Huddersfield) 2 and 1, M.Colcombe (Longley Park) bt J.Hayes (Hudds) 5 and 3, M.Broadbent (Woodsome) bt J.Doherty (Longley Park) 5 & 4, J.Hazalden (Outlane) by M.Murray (Todmorden) 1 hole; M.Cockroft (Bradley Hall) bt D.Lyness (Saddleworth) 4 and 3, M.Birkett (Halifax) bt R.Wilby (Elland) 3 and 2, S.Martin (West End) bt L.Dean (Halifax) 6 and 4, D.Stafford (Todmorden) bt P.Walker (Outlane) 3 and 2, D.Hartley (Dewsbury) bt B.Crowther (Dewsbury) at 19th, A.Cryer (Woodsome) lost to Jamie Smith (Halifax) 5 & 4, Adam Walker (Hudds) lost to Ed Battye (Bradley Park) 3 & 2, Andy Wilford (Hudds) bt C.Judson (Bradley Hall) 4 & 2, A.Whitworth (Bradley Hall) lost to C.Lander (Halifax) 4 and 3.

Round two: Schnacke bt Williams at the 26th, Tupman bt Shaw 4 & 3, Colcombe bt Broadbent 2 & 1, Cockroft bt Hazelden 4 & 3, Martin bt Birkett 2 & 1, Hartley bt Stafford 2up, Battye bt Smith by 1 hole, Wilford bt Lander 5 and 3.

Quarter finals (at Huddersfield on September 15): 9.40, Schnacke v Tupman; 9.50, Colcombe v Cockroft; 10.0, Martin v Hartley; 10.10, Battye v Wilford.

Chris Mear, manager of a Halifax-Huddersfield Union side which is having a fine season, has made three changes for Sunday’s penultimate match of the summer against Teesside at Barnard Castle.

Meltham’s Jamie Bower comes in at the top of the order and Adam Cryer and Richard Broadley also return.

They replace West End’s Steve Martin, Meltham’s Graham McLean and Todmorden’s Michael Murray.

Halifax-Huddersfield Union: Jamie Bower (Meltham), Aaron Schnacke (Huddersfield), Mathew Colcombe (Longley Park), Adam Cryer (Woodsome Hall), Mark Birkett (Halifax), Jamie Smith (Halifax), Dave Stafford (Todmorden), Richard Broadley (Huddersfield), Andy Shaw (Halifax Bradley Hall), Brad Tupman (Huddersfield), Ben Adamson (Crow Nest Park), Andy Wilford (Huddersfield).