Lewis’s chance to atone for pain he inflicted on Bridge

Actions from the ame, Mytholmroyd v Sowerby Bridge CC, at Mytholmroyd. Pictured is Lewis Mattock
Actions from the ame, Mytholmroyd v Sowerby Bridge CC, at Mytholmroyd. Pictured is Lewis Mattock

Lewis Mattock shattered Sowerby Bridge’s hopes of Rod Warhurst Cup glory in 2014 but on Sunday he will be hoping to help the Walton Street outfit to success in the same competition.

Bridge face Almondbury Wesleyan at Old Town (1.30) in the Halifax Sunday League final and Mattock knows just what it takes to lift the trophy.

Four years ago, aged just 17, he helped Southowram to a 10-wicket win over Bridge at Queensbury with four for 29 and 76 not out, he and fellow teenager Ashley Johnson knocking off the 166 his side required to win.

Mattock is now a key player for a middle-section Bridge side bidding to upset a Wesleyan outfit who are top division champions. He is not always available due to university studies but has been named in Bridge’s XI for Sunday’s Copymark-sponsored game.

The Sunday League is regarded by many clubs as a platform to introduce young players into the senior game and numerous teenagers could feature on Sunday, alongside more experienced players to guide them.

It is the 17th staging of the competition under its present title and neither of the finalists have lifted the trophy before, although Bridge were successful in the Courier Cup in 1995.

Old Town have hosted junior representative games in recent years and, having offered to stage a senior final, are hoping the weather holds.

Club committee member Sam Hampson said they were looking forward to welcoming people who perhaps hadn’t been to their ground before.

He said: “The whole club is looking forward to contributing to the wider league.

“There have been lots of issues at clubs regarding playing numbers and volunteers and we have had an up and down couple of years but we are really proud of what we have got.”

Almondbury Wesleyan (from): Ian Kenworthy, Louis Ainley, James Court, Daniel Flatt, Nathan Kenworthy, Scott Kenworthy, Michael Parkin, Aavis Riaz, Thomas Roberts, Calum Shipman, Mohammed Tanweer, Zuhaib Tanweer.

Sowerby Bridge: Darren Chapman, John Sunderland, Shazad Bostan, Saad Darr, Mathew Harrison, Myles Harrison, Noman Hussain, Reece Kendall, Lewis Mattock, Andrew Mellor, Jamil Nasiri.

Umpires: B.Hargreaves, M.Summerscales