Ogden pair chase Portugal glory

Chris Whitehead and John Jennings
Chris Whitehead and John Jennings

Halifax Golf Club members John Jennings and Chris Whitehead head off to Portugal this week after winning a place in the grand final of the HowDidiDo National Matchplay Championship.

The expenses-paid trip to the world-class Quinta do Lago resort, on the Algarve, is reward for battling through local rounds and a regional final at Tarporley, Cheshire, last year, in a competition open to any member of an affiliated golf club with an official handicap.

Jennings, who plays off five, and six-handicapper Whitehead - both from Bradford - will enjoy complimentary return flights to Faro, six-nights’ accommodation at the resort and five days’ golf on the renowned South and Laranjal courses, with the prestigious HowDidiDo National Matchplay title up for grabs.

Four competitions culminate in the grand final at Quinta do Lago - singles, pairs, mixed pairs and senior pairs, for those aged 50 or more - with 32 golfers from across the UK fighting it out for the titles.

Each finalist has played up to four qualifying rounds to reach the regional final, with the knockout rounds taking place between June and September, and the regional finals in October.

HowDidiDo’s database now holds in excess of 21 million rounds of golf along with the handicaps, results and scores of more than 1,300,000 UK golf club members.

Elland’s Nick Marsh saved his best for last in the South American Amateur Championship at Barranquilla Country Club in Columbia.

The 19-year-old shot a final round 72 to finish an excellent ninth out of 63 players.

Fixby member Marsh, who formerly played at Lightcliffe and Elland, had scored 76, 73, 76 on the first three days.

Marsh’s England Elite squad colleague Paul Howard won by six shots with a 284 total.

West End GC ladies’ section AGM took place on Tuesday.

Officers elected: Captain, J.Stimpson; Vice Captain, J.Abernethy; Past Captain, R. Button;

secretary, R.Hughes; treasurer, B.Sunderland; handicap secretary, R.Button; competition secretary, M.Wright. Committee: M.Chatfield, R.Gledhill, A.Stevens, L.Coyne, J.Young, M.McMahon.

Major competition winners: Mitchell Cup, M.McMahon; Oates Bowl, M.Holden; Illingworth Bowl, Z.Hartley; Marian Place Trophy, A.Martin; Gross Brooch, M.Holden; Emily Farmery Trophy, Z.Hartley; Lady Captain’s Prize, H.Langhorn; Medal Final Trophy, A.Stevens; Mary Whittaker Trophy, M.McMahon; Maruie Grey Claret Jug, M.McMahon; Eclectic competition, E.Stead; Birdie tree, E.Stead (silver division) and R.Hughes (bronze division); EWGA Medal, Z.Hartley; Cancer Relief Medal, M.McMahon; Breakthrough brooch, Z.Hartley.

Last Wednesday’s Huddersfield-Halifax Ladies Alliance event at Elland was cancelled due to a waterlogged course.