Valley’s Anne wins at ‘Royd

Anne Johnson
Anne Johnson

Eighty three runners braved mud, ice and puddles to take part in the 10k Mytholmroyd Fell Race organised by Halifax Harriers.

The race started with a punishing climb of 850 ft to Wicken Hill, which quickly spread the runners out as they snaked their way up the hill.

Then it was across Midgley Moor and down into Luddenden Valley before another steep climb back onto the moor, and Wicken Hill again before the steep descent back down to the start. There was a total climb of 1,350 feet.

The race was won by Neal Crampton (Pudsey and Bramley) in 50:35. The first lady to finish was Anne Johnson (Calder Valley) in 62:36.

The first Halifax Harrier was Luke Meleschko in 57:27 for 10th. Phil Grimes was second M60 and 24th overall in 61:19.

Elizabeth Sanderson was first lady home for Halifax Harriers in 68:18 (46th). Sally Cowton finished in 70:28 (53rd), closely followed by Sarah Nichols in 70:42 (54th). These three ladies took the ladies team prize. Calder Valley were the men’s team winners.

Valley’s team was led home by Iain Powell in seventh place in 56.26, beating off stiff competition from some speedy runners behind him.

He was joined by Mark Wharton in 14th and Richard Ingham in 17th.

Calder’s 12-strong contingent also included Rachel Crossland after injury.

This race was the final scoring event in Halifax Harriers Fell League, which has comprised of 10 races throughout the year.

In a very competitive ladies’ section, only a few points covered the top three going into the decider. The eventual winner was Elizabeth Sanderson with 33 points from Sally Cowton on 32 and Sarah Nichols on 31.

Luke Meleschko, having dominated the league all year, won easily with a maximum score of 36 points. David Nutton came next on 27 points.

These runners will receive their awards at Halifax Harriers annual dinner and presentation night in the Spring.