Waterloo ace Coupe through at Hill Crest

SIMON Coupe, Kieran O’Prey, John Gatley and Liam Griffin are the first four qualifiers through to the third round of the Complete Packaging Services Classic at Hill Crest BC, Sowerby Bridge.

First to qualify was the 2011 Waterloo World Championship winner Coupe, who began with a comfortable 31-20 victory over Ashley Daykin.

Coupe opened with a break of five, then gradually extended his lead to 12 points at 25-13 before winning by an 11 point margin.

His second game, against John Durrands, was notable for a prize winning break of nine which gave him the lead by 16-6. Always in control from then onwards, Coupe went on to win by 31-19.

O’Prey started with a close game against John Welsby. The two were level at 12 before O’Prey pulled away to lead by 24-17. Welsby reduced the arrears at 23-26 and was within striking distance at 26-28 before O’Prey took the game by 31-28.

O’Prey’s next game, against Greetland’s Gordon Bradford, was just as close. O’Prey held an 11-5 lead but the scores were level at 17. O’Prey led by 23-19 and, after Bradford edged ahead at 28-27, he ran out to win by 31-29.

Gatley’s trip from Warrington proved well worth while as he came through two close games to reach the intermediate rounds.

Against Chris Barton, Gatley trailed 4-9 and 11-15 before taking the lead by 19-15. The scores were tied at 22, 26, 27 and 28 before Gatley won the last two ends to complete a 31-28 victory.

Progress seemed unlikely as he trailed by 3-10 and 11-18 against the 2011 Yorkshire Merit winner James Hanson but a break of eight put him ahead for the first time at 19-18. He was behind again by 22-26 and 25-28 before running out with a break of six singles.

Last to make it through was Griffin, who was well in control of his opening game with a 23-16 lead over Mark Hughes before Hughes took the lead with a break of eight. For the rest of the game the jack swapped hands at every end with Griffin having the edge to win by 31-28.

Griffin took a 9-5 lead over Chris Brown and, despite Brown’s best striking efforts, remained in control to win by 31-20.

Next week Wayne Ditchfield will begin the defence of his 2011 title and is joined by the 2001 champion Chris Macdonald, who will meet Todmorden’s Gary Timewell in his opening game. Chris Mordue and Tony Riley, both from Brighouse, and James Senior, of Elland, are also in the 16.

Saturday’s first round scores: C.Barton 28 J.Gatley 31, G.McMahon 25 J.Hanson 31, M.Hughes 28 L.Griffin 31, P.Lee 28 C.Brown 31, J.Durrands 31 A.Hodgson 27, S.Coupe 31 A.Daykin 20, J.Welsby 28 K.O’Prey 31, G. Bradford 31 J.Hearne 29.

Next Saturday’s draw: A.Heaps (Warrington) v C.Mordue (Brighouse), C.Macdonald (Congleton) v G.Timewell (Todmorden), W.Ditchfield (Chorley) v D. Sillitoe (Doncaster), C.Armitage (Warrington) v F Pelington (Wales), S. Goodwin (Warrington) v D.Ferris (Stoke), T.Riley (Brighouse) v R.Fitzpatrick (Wirral), M.Riley (Wales) v J.Senior (Elland), D.Poole (Doncaster) v G.Stone (Warrington).


Akroydon Vics 2; Macks 6. G Boden 19, M. Hardcastle 21; W Divers 21, J Asquith 7; S O’Farrell 18, M Guide 21; B Scanlon 21, A Batchelor 19; P Hunter 7, M Quick 21; P Skene 19, J Collins 21.

Halifax B 6, Halifax C 2. G Ambler 21, J Lees 8; J Brier 19, M Farnell 21; M Green 14, A Oates 21; L Wood 21, S Hutchinson 12; S Crowther 21, K Smith 12; D Wynn 21, B Crompton 6.

Holmfield 2, Ripponden 6. E. Emerton 21, M Hirst 3; J Ward 21, J Little 15; D Gibson 10, J Wade 21; M Fairbanks 15, P Jackson 21; M Crossley 13, S Griffiths 21; C Armitage 6, M Baxendale 21.

Bradshaw 1, Sowerby 7. P Wilson 18, L Clegg 21.;R Johnson 21, P Schofield 20; F Gilling 10, G Hartley 21; E Chesslett 8, D Marlow 21; L O’Connor 11, S Smith 21; A McIlroy 19, L Ellison 21.

Stainland 7, Wellesley Park 1. M Tullett 17, M Rawnsley 21; S Ansell 21, D Tattersall 7; C Taylor 21, S Crowther 10; M Wilson 21, V Grice 12; M Harte 21, C Jenkins 15; J Bull 21, M Fleming 13.

Spring Hall 6, Halifax A 2. J Payne 21, P Ward 17; M Howland 21, C Austin 9; B Hernik 21, D Allison 20; J Walmsley 14, M Reynolds 21; M Adamson 16, J Shaw 21; P Berry 21, M Graydon 0.