Wood grabs Merit spoils

Pam Wood produced a powerful finish to claim her first Halifax Ladies Merit title in the rain at Old Town BC on Saturday.

She looked out for the count when she trailed former winner Cathy Ness 20-12 in the final, having been 12-3 down.

However, she produced a nine break bowling across the crown to snatch the spoils.

Sowerby Tennis and Bowling Club’s Wood had beaten Akroydon Victoria BC teenager Amy Marsden in her semi-final while Mytholmroyd WMC’s Nees had accounted for Mytholmroyd BC’s Jean Gornall.

Twenty players took part.

Spring Hall BC’s popular Rose Mason Pairs takes place on Monday July, 2 (10.0) with an experienced player teaming up with with a less-experienced one. Each pair plays four games of seven ends.

Group One: Doreen Allison (Halifax) and Margeret Ainley (Elland), Jenny Walmsley (Spring Hall) and Joan Hallowes (Halifax), Barbara Honey (Luddenden Foot) and Wendy Cotterill (Allan Park), Janet Bull (Elland) and Gillian Thornber (Luddenden Foot), Margaret Wood (Brighouse) and Julie Bousfield (Halifax), Susan Wood (Elland) and Margaret Green (Halifax). Group Two: June Barron (Spring Hall) and Pat Grant (Spring Hall), Joan Payne (Spring Hall) and Elspeth Hartley (Spring Hall), Margaret Holt (Mytholmroyd) and Barbara Crompton (Halifax), Val Bax (Halifax) and Bernice Smith (Elland), Jean Bentley (Brighouse) and Lynda Helliwell (Greenroyd), Christine Turner (Halifax) and Bronwin Bannon (Halifax). Group Three: Maywynne Denby (Spring Hall) and Jeanne Thomas (Halifax), Norah Hanson (Spring Hall) and Ann Oates (Halifax), Norma Walker (Greetland) and Sandra Hutchinson (Halifax), Joyce Shaw (Halifax) and Jean Lees (Halifax), Muriel Boothroyd (Elland) and Margaret Farnell (Halifax), Barbara Gee (Halifax) and Dorothy Sykes (Halifax).
Group Four: Pam Berry (Spring Hall) and Sheila Holbrook (Halifax), Joyce Depledge (Spring Hall) and Avril Humberstone (Spring Hall), Pauline Vickerman (Elland) and Muriel Stansfield (Elland), Pam Pilling (Mytholmroyd) and Lynne Wood (Halifax), Sue Griffiths (Ripponden) and Eileen Dovernor (Halifax), Margaret Priestley (Greetland) and Christine Helliwell (Elland). Group Five: Sally Harrison (Spring Hall) and Marilyn Greenwood (Halifax), Hazel Garside (Brighouse) and Jennifer Templeton (Spring Hall), Megan Fairbank (Greetland) and Jackie Farrar (Spring Hall), Sue Rawnsley (Spring Hall) and Barbara Wood (Spring Hall), Christine Austin (Halifax) and Colleen Agnew (Halifax), Eileen Emmerton (Greetland ) and Rhonda Horner (Greenroyd)