Breaking: Marshall beats Rowley to Coach of the Year crown

editorial image

Halifax coach Richard Marshall has beaten Paul Rowley of Leigh and Whitehaven’s James Coyle to the Kingstone Press Championship Coach of the Year award.

The award, which Marshall collected at the Championship awards bash in Manchester tonight, capped a remarkable first season at the Shay for the ex-England Academy coach, who masterminded a nine-match winning run to secure a Qualifiers berth.

Bradford Bulls stand-off Lee Gaskell was crowned Kingstone Press Championship Player of the Year.

Gaskell, who pipped Leigh Centurions half-back Ryan Brierley and Halifax captain Scott Murrell to the coveted award, has been a key performer for the Bulls in spearheading their charge to the Qualifiers as they aim for a swift return to the First Utility Super League.