Fax’s Marshall and Murrell up for gongs at Championship bash

Scott Murrell in action against Salford
Scott Murrell in action against Salford

Halifax coach Richard Marshall is one of three names on the shortlist for the Championship Coach of the Year prize.

The rookie boss, who steered Fax to a shock fourth-placed finish in his first season as a head coach, has been nominated alongside Leigh’s Paul Rowley - his former Fax teammate - and Whitehaven’s James Coyle.

Fax skipper Scott Murrell’s outstanding form has also been recognised, with the talented playmaker on the list for the Player of the Year gong, alongside Leigh’s Ryan Brierley and Bradford’s outstanding half back Lee Gaskell.

Marshall described the nominations as a “great accolade for the whole squad”.

The winners will be crowned at Monday night’s Championship awards dinner in Manchester.

The full list of nominees is:

Championship Player of the Year: Ryan Brierley (Leigh Centurions), Lee Gaskell (Bradford Bulls), Scott Murrell (Halifax)

Championship Young Player of the Year: Jordan Baldwinson (Featherstone Rovers), Joel Farrell (Dewsbury Rams), Thomas Minns (Featherstone Rovers)

Championship Coach of the Year: James Coyle (Whitehaven), Richard Marshall (Halifax), Paul Rowley (Leigh Centurions),

League 1 Player of the Year: Andy Ackers (Swinton Lions), Richie Hawkyard (Swinton Lions), Lewis Palfrey (Oldham), George Tyson (Oldham)

League 1 Young Player of the Year: Matty Beharrell (NewcastleThunder), Greg Minikin (York City Knights), Ben White (Swinton Lions)

League 1 Coach of the Year: John Duffy (Swinton Lions), James Ford (York City Knights), Scott Naylor (Oldham).