Harrogate Volunteer Oscars 2014: Shortlisted nominations

Jacqui Hall of CNG receives The Corporate Engagment Award from Sandra Doherty President of Harrogate Chamber of Trade in 2013. (1311011AM26)Jacqui Hall of CNG receives The Corporate Engagment Award from Sandra Doherty President of Harrogate Chamber of Trade in 2013. (1311011AM26)
Jacqui Hall of CNG receives The Corporate Engagment Award from Sandra Doherty President of Harrogate Chamber of Trade in 2013. (1311011AM26)
The final shortlist of nominations for the Harrogate & District Volunteering Oscars 2014 has been revealed.

Each nominee, listed below, has been invited to the glittering awards ceremony at the Old Swan Hotel in Harrogate next Friday, October 31, and they have been urged to bring friends along from 7pm.

The awards are organised by former Mayor of Harrogate Coun John Fox together with the Harrogate & Ripon Centres for Voluntary Services and Harrogate Advertiser Series.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Harrogate Advertiser Series - supporting the 2014 Oscars - will provide full coverage from the ceremony online from November 1 and in our newspapers on November 6.

The 7th Harrogate & District Volunteering Oscars will again celebrate the tremendous work done by volunteers in our community by such a diverse group of people of all ages, whilst recognising those who have gone the extra mile and thanking them for all that they do.

Christopher Smith, Partner at Stephen H Smith’s Garden & Leisure said: “We first sponsored the ‘Environment Volunteer of the Year Award’ last year and were so impressed at the standard of the nominations to this and the other categories that we are very pleased to be supporting the Volunteer Oscars Awards again this year.”

Naomi Hall of the Blue Water Partnership said: “We won the ‘Corporate Engagement Award’ in 2012 and were amazed to find at the Awards Ceremony so many volunteers of all ages from throughout the Harrogate District had been nominated.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“We are very pleased to be sponsoring the ‘Organisation of the Year Award’ for the second year.”

Harrogate Town AFC have agreed to sponsor the Sports Volunteer again this year.

Managing Director Garry Plant said: “At Harrogate Town AFC we have a great team of volunteers, so we are extremely pleased to support the Volunteering Oscars again this year, as we recognise the tremendous support given to sports by volunteers throughout the district.”

Jacqui Hall, Managing Director of CNG Ltd said: “When we were invited to receive our ‘Corporate Engagement Award’ last year, we were really impressed by the number of volunteers that give their time in our community and are pleased to be one of the sponsors this year.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“I do encourage everyone to nominate a friend or member of the family who volunteers in our community,” said.

Robert Ogden of Ogdens of Harrogate said: “As an established family company, being part of the Harrogate community for over 120 years, we are extremely pleased to again support the Volunteering Oscars.

Volunteers make our community a great place to live and work and we should congratulate all volunteers for giving their time.”


Young Volunteer of the Year

Lizze Jackson

Jessica Quigley

Care Volunteer of the Year

Dorothy Hawkins

Angela Henson

Anne Hoole

Jane Kelly

Jane Lishman

Rosalind Marsden

Cheryl McKee

Ruth Williams

Community Volunteer of the Year

Sarah Bailes

Catherine Baxter

Hannah Beck

Friends of Starbeck Library

Harrogate Food Angels

Ann Hill

Geoff and Frances Scurrah

Marie Curie Ripon Fundraising Group

Martin Smith

Mary Snowden

Saint Michael’s Team – Starbeck shop

Timothy Stewart

Martin Williamson

Environment Volunteer of the Year

Rachel Green and Sandra Schiendorfer

Saint Michael’s Hospice Gardening Team

Timothy Stewart

Sports Volunteer of the Year

Tom Hildreth

David Terzza

Cliff Trotter

Wildlife Volunteer of the Year

Geoff Scurrah

Rachel Green and Sandra Schiendorfer

Teresa Marshall

Unsung – Harrogate

Hannah Beck

Renee Dickinson

Harrogate District Cancer Action Partnership

Derry Jones

Charlotte Macrae

Andrew Patterson

Graham Richards

Pam Roberts

John Shackleton

Ruth Usher

Brenda Ward

Unsung - Knaresborough

Brian Bradley-Smith

Dorothy Harrison

Unsung – Ripon & Boroughbridge

Claire Green

Tom Hildreth

Judith Jones

John Todd

Unsung – Nidderdale

Margaret Kendrew

Biddy Noakes

New Volunteer of the Year

Ruth Bakes

David Healy

Amanda Martyn

Tim Wokes

Trustee of the Year

Joy Allan

John Beck

Janet Chapman

Tony Collins

Glyn Robins

Organisation of the Year

Girl Guiding North Yorkshire West

Harrogate Hospital Radio

Le Tour Knaresborough

Ripon Youth Theatre

Supporting Older People

Washburn Heritage Centre

Corporate Engagement Award


Harrogate Town AFC

Volunteer of the Year

Joy Barker

Cath Blakey

Louise Blakeburn

Ann Burrell

Violet Davill

Renee Dickinson

Mark Firth

Tony Handley

Colette Lain

Robina MacDonald

Eleanor McRobert

Andrew Patterson

Sue Porter

Sue Rees

Phill Ruddy

Michelle Rundle

David Simpson

Marie-Louise Thirlaway

Winners of the Special Award and Lifetime Volunteer Award will be announced on night.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Supporting the 2014 Harrogate and District Volunteer Oscars:

Harrogate Advertiser Series


Enid Taylor Ltd

Harrogate & Ripon Councils for Voluntary Service

Harrogate Chamber of Trade & Commerce

Harrogate International Centre

Harrogate Town AFC

Marshall Zoing Ltd

Ogden of Harrogate

Orb Community Enterprise

Stephen H Smith’s Garden and Leisure

The Blue Water Partnership

The Old Swan Hotel

Yorkshire Building Society