Virtual awards ceremony honours ‘amazing work’ of inspiring Calderdale volunteers

Winners galore were the main themes of this year’s Calderdale Community Spirit Awards on Monday.

Wednesday, 2nd December 2020, 11:53 am
Updated Wednesday, 2nd December 2020, 11:56 am

The annual award ceremony, streamed via YouTube, highlighted extraordinary successes across Calderdale, and shone a light on the amazing work of the third sector, during a year when coronavirus dominated national headlines.

The event was organised by the Community Foundation for Calderdale (CFFC) and saw groups and individuals awarded for categories including Best Fundraising Campaign and Outstanding Individual Achievement.

CEO of CFFC, Steve Duncan said: ”This has been a tough year for many of us with the floods in February and then Covid-19.

Sign up to our daily Halifax Courier Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Eye-catching performances have been sorely missed across Calderdale during lockdown

"This has been a tough year for so many of us with the floods in February and then Covid-19, and while the Community Foundation has been busy mobilising donations and distributing grants to the frail, elderly and vulnerable. These were four very special people who were passionate about the Foundation in its mission to help to improve the quality of life for people in Calderdale have passed away.

"The Foundation and Calderdale have lost Lord Shutt of Greetland Founder of the Foundation, Dame Ingrid Roscoe former Lord Lieutenant of West Yorkshire and Foundation President, Tony Gartland Foundation donor and trustee and Martin Olive former Chair of the Foundation. It was important to honour four very special people with a short tribute film immediately prior to the Awards event.”

Scooping top spot for the Arts and Culture award was Shared Harmonies, a group who use singing improve health and wellbeing. Best Fundraising Campaign was awarded to ‘inspirational’ Neil Davidson, who raised £35,000 for charity Community CPR Fund.

The Best Marketing award was given to natural flood management campaign Slow the Flow. Calderdale Light House picked up Best New Charity, while Society for Neurodiversity (S4ND) won Breakthrough of the Year.

Steve Duncan, CEO of CFFC

Sowerby Bridge Rotary Club picked up Charity of the Year; Caroline Beardsmore and Louise Reed were joint winners for Outstanding Individual Achievement; Paul Farrell won Volunteer of the Year; and Andrew Naylor was the final winner with Young Community Champion.

Angie Balmer of Society for Neurodiversity - Breakthrough of the Year winners
Anne Sutcliffe, Sowerby Bridge Rotary Club
Neil Davidson, best fundraising campaign
Calderdale Light House's Emma Buxton (left) and Donna Williams (right)
Arts and Culture award, Shared Harmonies' Emma Baylin
Best Marketing Campaign Slow the Flow Adrain Horton
Young Community Champion Andrew Naylor
Paul Farrell won Volunteer of the Year