Tour de Yorkshire 2019 Halifax to Leeds route revealed

Riders at the Piece Hall
Riders at the Piece Hall

Halifax will be in the spotlight again as it hosts the final stage of the Tour de Yorkshire 2019

The full route of the 2019 Tour de Yorkshire has been announced at a ceremony today in Leeds

READ MORE: Live coverage of the Tour de Yorkshire 2019 route announcement and how Calderdale will feature

Halifax hosted the start of the final stage in the 2018 race and once again riders will be racing to Leeds for the grand finale.

The four stages for the 2019 race will start or finish in Barnsley, Bedale, Bridlington, Doncaster, Halifax, Leeds, Scarborough and Selby.

Christian Prudhomme, Director of the Tour de France at the A.S.O, said: “The Tour de Yorkshire is a true success story and in just four years it has grown to become one of the best attended and most dramatic races on the cycling calendar.

“We are delighted to be working in partnership with such a great team at Welcome to Yorkshire and I know our eight start and finish locations will put on a real show in 2019.”

The ceremony will also reveal the 2019 Tour de Yorkshire official charity, artist and the route for the sportive race.

Councillor Tim Swift, the Leader of Calderdale Council, said: “I’m delighted that Halifax will host a start or finish of the Tour de Yorkshire for the second year running!

“Every year the Tour de Yorkshire grows in popularity and it’s a real testament to Calderdale’s appeal as a cycling destination that Halifax will once again be a host town.

“The Piece Hall provided an incredible backdrop to 2018’s race and the support that spectators gave to the riders was fantastic.

"’Id like to thank the businesses that decorated the route and everyone who came along and made the event in Calderdale so memorable last year – I’m sure they’ve really contributed to us being selected again.

“We’ll now look forward to the full route announcement in December and hope that many other villages and towns in Calderdale play a big part in the race in 2019.”